ESOMAR Introduces Council: Meet Kristin and Anne-Sophie 4

ESOMAR is delighted to announce the results of the election for the 2017/2018 ESOMAR Council term. Nominations were invited for the two-year term from January 2017 to December 2018, with ten Council vacancies to be filled: President, Vice President and 8 Council Members.

The election and ballot procedure was processed by an independent third-party, the Electoral Reform Services (ERS), with additional monitoring from an independently formed Election Committee to oversee the elections.

Please join us in welcoming the new Council members! We look forward to this new Council continuing to foster, and work on, the growth and development initiatives that have been a hallmark of successive councils!


Two candidates were standing for President, and as a result of the ballot count, Niels SCHILLEWAERT (USA) has been elected as the new ESOMAR President.

BV PRADEEP (UK) running unopposed was confirmed as the Vice President.
Both Niels and BV bring immense professional experience to their new positions, which will benefit ESOMAR and our industry enormously in the years to come.

Additionally, the following eight candidates were elected to the ESOMAR Council for the remaining seats for 2017/2018 term (listed alphabetically by last name):
Joaquim BRETCHA (Spain),Luisa Ravelo CONTRERAS (Venezuela), Anne-Sophie DAMELINCOURT (France), Umesh KUMAR (India), Kristin LUCK (USA), Pervin OLGUN (Turkey), Marcello SASSO (Italy), Pieter Paul VERHEGGEN (Netherlands)

Laurent Flores, will remain on Council in an ex-officio capacity as past President for the 2017/2018 term.

Regretfully, we are also losing several members from Council and we would like to take this opportunity to extend very warm thanks and appreciation to out-going Council members Dan Foreman (ex-officio), David Smith (UK) and David Bakken (USA)  for their outstanding contributions and support in developing ESOMAR’s activities and strategy.
We would also like to thank all the candidates who were not elected. Their on-going support and commitment to ESOMAR and the industry is hugely appreciated and we look forward to continuing to work with them in other capacities in the future.
Lastly, we would like to thank all of you our members who participated in the election process. Your voice is imperative for ensuring that we at ESOMAR continue to be the global voice for the data, insights and research community.

And so once again, we are very excited to present the new ESOMAR Council 2015-2016:


Niels Schillewaert (InSites USA – President)




newbvBV Pradeep (Unilever UK – Vice-President)





pieter-paul-verheggen_330x440Pieter Paul Verheggen (Motivaction. Netherlands)




anne-sophie-damelincourtAnne-Sophie Damelincourt (Blue Lemon, France)




kristin-luck_2014_330x440Kristin Luck (Decipher, USA)




joaquim-bretcha_2013_330x440Joaquim Bretcha (Netquest, Spain)




pervinPervin Olgun (Barem, Turkey)




ummmmmUmesh Kumar (Hansa Research – India)





Marcello Sasso (Aimpoint – Italy)




luisa-mercedes-ravelo-contreras_90x120Luisa Ravelo Contreras (Corporacion Request – Venezuela)




Good luck all!